My Connections to Play

Play is so integral to childhood that a child who does not have the opportunities to play is cut off from a major portion of childhood.” -Musselwhite

“Children need the freedom and time to play. Play is not a luxury. Play is a necessity.” -Kay Redfield Jamison

 

Play was an important part of my growing up from school to home, children  were able to play and use items to make beleive. Without all of the technology we have today we did not have a choice but to play with our toys outside and pretend. The items below represent a few things that I played with as a child. These items were used for what they were meant , but also we used our imagination to pretend they were other things.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image result for images of big wheels

 

Two girls playing with jumping rope and hula hoop at playground — stock illustration

 

It is important that we allow children to play, and not get so caught up in academics, especially in the early years. Children need play to help develop their imaginations, social skills, cognitive skills and physical skills. Children need to be able to go out side and to run, jump and play with balls and bikes. Playing should be an important part of a child’s day everyday.

One thought on “My Connections to Play”

  1. Hey, Kareema!
    I think everybody on our block had a big wheel. I had one with fringes on the handle bars and that thing click click click everytime I paddled. The faster I paddled, the louder them clicks were! (LOL) As we got older, we learned how to double dutch…well, I learned how to turn the rope because my butt was clumsy and still is!!!

    Thanks for sharing your memories!

    Like

Leave a comment