My Connections to Play

Growing up as a child play was a very imporatant part of my life, often times I had no choice but to play, as we did not have all devices that are avaialable today. We played outside, we played pretend, and we play with out neighbors and friends.

 

play 1.png

 

play 2.jpg

These 2 quotes describe how I feel about play as I was growing up in the 70’s and 80’s.

 

Tbarbie dolls.jpg

 

bikes.jpg

These 2 items represent 2 of the many items that were my favorite to play with.

As a child my parents supported play and my grandparents. Our teacher also encouraged us to play from Head start and beyond.  We played with the neighborhood friends and our cousins.

Today children have so many distractions and devices that they don’t know how to play. Schools now have so many rules about no child behind, that play is not at the top of the list, they have to make sure children are getting the academics. Families are now working so much that there is no time for play at home with parents and children.

It is my hope that we can get back to the point of allowing children to be children and play, without all of the academic stresss that is placed on them as early as pre school.

 

Leave a comment