Relationship Reflection

Relationships are important to me because they are a part of my life and daily routine. I have a lot of relationships with family and friends that impact my life on a regular basis. Some of my relationships have taught me life lessons and others I am still tyring to find the common ground.

The people in my life most important are my immediate family, my Husband, my 15 year old daugher and my 5 year old son. I also have my parents, my one sister, brother in law and my new Baby Nephew, and my Husbands family. Although my family circle is sometimes strained, we have a lot ot be greatful for.I consider my self to have a positive relationship and partnership with my husand. When we met my daughter was 2 years old, he took her in and has always been there for her, and 10 years later we added a son. We have a great partnership when it comes to raising our family.

Another relationship I find to the most memorable and cherished is that of my 94 year old Grandmother who is currently living with my parents. Before she came to live with my parents I would see her from time to time, but never got to sit down and spend as much time with here as I do now. It reminds me of when we were young spending our summers at her house with the rest of my cousins. Although whe is is older and much slower I am learning to cherish every moment I have left with her.

My work family would be another partnership/ relationship that i consider as positive. I have worked this job for 2 years and formed relatinship and friendships with a lot of great woman, some a little closer than others. One in particular is my friend who is much younger than me, but I consider her to be wise beyond hear years and we get along very well.

Relationships are hard, you have to work at them in order to maintain positivity. It does not take much to form relationships, but I have learned over time who I can trust, there many of my relationships are based on distance or being sometimes conservative in how much I can trust them. So the challenge for me is trusting people to a point of forming a relation

Being the Early Childhood field, I have had many relationships with my students and families as well as co workers. I was always the quiet friend who could get along with everyone. I tried really hard to make students and families feel special. Recenlty, I was confronted by a father and daughter who was in my class many years ago. The girl who is now a teenager, cried everyday in my class to the point that no other teacher would deal with her. I would hold her and confort her and try to get her to engage in the activities. She remembered me and her father thanked me for helping her get through the year. It made me feel really special that I had an effect on her, although I did not that I would not want someone to do for my own children, and that is confort them and allow them to see everything is ok. As ECE Educators we must be able to have relationships even with the parents or students who seem difficult to reach. Our classrooms will run alot smoother when we form those relationships.

Leave a comment